How Automated Time Tracking Works

ServiceM8 Automated Time Tracking can automatically Check In and Check Out of Jobs, automatically Clock On at the start of the day, and automatically Check Out and the end of the day, helping to ensure that the data recorded in your account is accurate, without generating extra administration work.

ServiceM8 makes decisions about when to check in/out or clock on/off based on your location, the time of day, and the jobs that have been assigned to you. In order for Automated Time Tracking to work, you will need to set the GPS permissions of the ServiceM8 mobile app to "Always Allow".

Automatic Clock On/Off

ServiceM8 will automatically clock you on for the day when you arrive at the office or at a job site, or when you manually check in to any job.

You will be automatically clocked off when you leave the office at the end of the day, or when you leave the last job for the day. 

Note that the automatic clock on/off feature is not instant. It may take multiple GPS updates for ServiceM8 to gain confidence that you have arrived at or departed a given location, so the actual clock on/off event may be delayed by a few minutes. However, once ServiceM8 has determined that an automatic clock on/off should occur, the recorded time of that event will be adjusted to the time that you actually arrived or left the location.

Automatic Check In/out

ServiceM8 will automatically check you in to a job when you arrive at the location of a Job that has been allocated to you, or scheduled to you for the current day, or when you arrive at the job after using the "navigate" function within ServiceM8. 

Note that if the actual location of the job does not match the location shown in the Map within ServiceM8, e.g. if it's a large site such as a university campus, then ServiceM8 may not be able to automatically check you in. The location does not have to be perfectly aligned though, there is a margin for error. Ensuring that the Job Address has been entered correctly will help to avoid this problem.

ServiceM8 will automatically check you out of a job when you leave the location at which you checked in. The automatic check-out feature will still work even if you have manually checked in to the job.

The automatic check in/out feature is not instant. It may take multiple GPS updates for ServiceM8 to gain confidence that you have arrived at or departed a given location, so the actual check in/out event may be delayed by a few minutes. However, once ServiceM8 has determined that an automatic clock on/off should occur, the recorded time of that event will be adjusted to the time that you actually arrived or left the location.

Automatic Time Tracking Settings

Because Automatic Time Tracking needs to know your location in order to decide when to clock on/off or check in/out, it requires that you enable "Always allow" GPS access for ServiceM8 in your iOS Settings ("While using the app" or "Never" will not work). The ServiceM8 app will not share your location while you are clocked off.

To adjust this:

  1. Open the iOS Settings app
  2. Tap Privacy
  3. Tap Location Services
  4. Tap ServiceM8
  5. Select "Always"

Can I deactivate Automated Time Tracking?

Yes — if you find that Automatic Time Tracking is not suitable for you, you can disable it. To do so, open the iOS Settings app, tap ServiceM8, and adjust the settings in the "Time Tracking" segment. If you choose to disable Automatic Time Tracking, please take the time to send a quick email to support@servicem8.com to provide feedback about why the feature wasn't suitable.

0 out of 0 found this helpful