Security Roles Overview

To view available Security Roles and their level of access in detail, go to Account > Settings, and click 'Security Roles'.

.

.

This section summarises the type of access which comes with each Security Role

.

.

Business Owner

  • Full access to everything. 
  • Can remove jobs. 
  • Can edit Check In times/durations.

    By default, the Account Owner’s security role is set to the Default Business Owner role. Other staff members (e.g. business partners) can also be set to a Default Business Owner role, however keep in mind that there is only one Account Owner for the ServiceM8 account. 

Finance

  • Access to all jobs, quoting, invoicing, items/services, job history, clients and settings.
  • Access to costing and profit. 
  • No access to reports.

Staff

  • Access to all jobs, job history and clients. 
  • Can see all staff schedules.
  • Can see sale pricing.
  • Can add items/materials to jobs.
  • Can see job Diaries.
  • Can see job quotes and invoices.
  • Can quote and invoice clients. 
  • No access to costing or profit. 
  • No access to settings 
  • No access to reports.

Staff (No Pricing)

  • Access to all jobs, job history and clients. 
  • Can see all staff schedules. 
  • Can add items/materials to jobs. 
  • Can see job Diaries.
  • Can see attachments in the Diary.
  • Cannot see Quote & Invoice PDFs generated in the job card.
  • Cannot quote or invoice clients. 
  • No access to quotes, invoices or pricing. 
  • No access to costing or profit. 
  • No access to settings.
  • No access to reports.

Staff (No Pricing, No Attachments)

Note: this role is not available in new accounts.

  • Access to all jobs, job history and clients. 
  • Can see all staff schedules. 
  • Can add items/materials to jobs. 
  • Can see job Diaries.
  • Cannot see attachments in the Diary, including Quote & Invoice PDFs generated in the job card.
  • Cannot quote or invoice clients. 
  • No access to quotes, invoices or pricing. 
  • No access to costing or profit. 
  • No access to settings.
  • No access to reports.

Contractor

  • Can see their own jobs and schedule only. 
  • Can see sale pricing. 
  • Can add items/materials to jobs.
  • Can see job Diaries.
  • Can see job quotes and invoices.
  • Can quote and invoice clients. 
  • Cannot create jobs. 
  • Cannot see other staff. 
  • No access to clients (other than clients on jobs allocated/scheduled to them). 
  • No access to costing or profit. 
  • No access to settings.
  • No access to reports.

Strict Contractor

  • Can see their own jobs and schedule only. 
  • No access to quotes, invoices or pricing. 
  • Cannot create jobs. 
  • Cannot add items/materials to jobs. 
  • Cannot quote or invoice clients. 
  • Cannot see other staff. 
  • No access to clients (other than clients on jobs allocated/scheduled to them). 
  • No access to job Diaries. 
  • No access to costing or profit. 
  • No access to settings.
  • No access to reports.

How to set a staff member's Security Role

To edit a staff member's Security Role, go to Account > Settings > Staff, click 'Edit' next to the relevant staff member, then select the appropriate role in the 'Security Role' dropdown:

9 out of 13 found this helpful