What to do if you have a staff member leave the business.

Follow

When a staff member leaves your business it is important to consider their access to your account. Depending on the situation there are various levels of precaution that you should take.

Does the staff member still have access to any email used to log into ServiceM8?

If they do they can request a password reset and then regain access to ServiceM8. In this case it is important to change any email that the ex-staff member may have access to.

Change all passwords in account

A good precaution is to change all passwords inside ServiceM8.

Depending on the history you want to keep of the staff members previous history there are two options:

Delete the staff member completely

  • The staff member will immediately be logged out of the app and will not be able to log back in.
  • This will retain history of work this staff member has done in the job diary.
  • They will not be available to run reports against.
  • You will not be able to review work history using the job schedule.
  • They will not be able to regain access to your account, even if they have access to the email.

Change the staff member's password & set the staff member to not show on dispatch board or schedule.

  • This will retain history of work this staff member has done in the job diary.
  • You will be available to run reports against that staff member.
  • This allows you to review work history using the job schedule. (By making the staff member visible on the schedule again.)
  • If the staff member still has access to the email they can reset their password and log back in. (unless you change the email associated with the user.)
Have more questions? Submit a request